In a multi-academy trust, a single trust is responsible for a number of academies.  The MAT consists of the Members and the Trustees.


The Members are akin to the shareholders of a company.  They have ultimate control over the academy trust, with the ability to appoint some of the trustees and the right to amend the Trust’s Articles of Association.


The Trustees are responsible for the same three core governance functions performed by the Governing Board in a maintained school: setting the direction, holding the Headteacher to account and ensuring financial probity.  As charity Trustees, they must also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements.  Academy trusts are charitable companies and the Trustees are Company Directors and must comply with company law requirements.  The duties are largely the same as those of a Governor of a maintained school, such as regularly attending meetings, managing conflicts of interest, seeking advice from the academy’s leadership team and ensuring the academy has appropriate procedures in place for reporting financial information.

Local Governors

Individuals who sit on Local Governing Boards are referred to as ‘local Governors’.

This is because Trustees can delegate governance functions to the local level.  Trustees have complete discretion over what is delegated to each local Governing Board.  They may, for example, decide to delegate all functions to academies in the chain that are performing well and only a few to those academies that need greater support.  Alternatively, where a multi-academy trust wishes to retain all governance functions centrally, it may establish an advisory body at the school level, which has no formal governance function but which advises the Board of Trustees on its decisions.

Governance in Multi-academy Trusts, National College for Teaching and Leadership (2014)

Our Structure

Please click on the button below to view our structure.


Mr Michael Garratt (Chair)

Date of Appointment:
1 September 2016

Dr Bryan Slater

Date of Appointment:
1 September 2016

Mrs Samantha Swinnerton

Date of Appointment:
22 March 2017

Dr Linda Steynor (Chair)

Date of Appointment - 1 September 2016

Ms Anne Gibson

Date of Appointment - 1 September 2018

Mr Peter Harwood

Date of Appointment - 1 December 2016

Mr Owen Jenkins

Date of Appointment - 15 August 2017

Mr Peter Lamble

Date of Appointment - 1 September 2016

Mr Gary Leverett

Date of Appointment - 1 September 2018


Nicholas Hancox

12 February 2020 (Member)

Alfonso Gotts

1 July 2020 (Trustee)

Ian Clayton

31 August 2020 (Trustee)

Mrs Philippa Redmond

13 October 2021 (Member)

Local Governing Boards

Each school within the Trust has its own Local Governing Board made up of skilled people.

Full details of each Local Governing Board (including names, date of appointment, term of office, appointing body, relevant business and pecuniary interests, and attendance records) are available on each school’s website:

Dussindale Primary School

North Walsham Infant and Nursery School

Hemblington Primary School

North Walsham Junior School

Hillside Avenue Primary and Nursery School

Bluebell Primary School

Thorpe St Andrew School and Sixth Form

Recruitment (Governance)

The Yare Education Trust is currently looking for new Governors within its schools.

If you are interested, please download the Recruitment Pack.  Should you have any questions, please contact the relevant school directly.

The Yare Education Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales at Trust Central Office, Longfields Road, Norwich, NR7 0NB (Company Number – 10301555)

Disclaimer  |  Copyright